Riddick's Folly House Museum
510 N. Main Street | Suffolk, VA 23434
While Mills Riddick's contemporaries may have mocked
his Greek Revival home when it was built in 1837, the house now stands as a beautiful reminder of the past. The impressive structure is situated on North Main Street and features striking architectural details. Riddick's Folly has 4 floors, 21 rooms,
and 16 fireplaces. All 4 floors are open to the public.
The building features elegantly furnished double parlors, a gentlemen's library, and adult and children's bedchambers.
Also open are the laundry and dining rooms and the kitchen.
Suffolk Visitor Center
at the Historic Nansemond Courthouse
524 N. Main Street | Suffolk, VA 23434
Overlooking the Nansemond River, the provincial Roman Revival style structure with its very tall Tuscan columns was an impressive site for early travelers arriving on the river. Today the building retains its commanding presence and historical significance as the Suffolk Visitor Center. The first floor provides an exhibit gallery highlighting the history of Suffolk and the Great Dismal Swamp, a greeting and information area and a gift shop. The second floor houses municipal offices for the Department of Economic Development and Division of Tourism.